The KSA Volunteer Award Program & our recipients

Stanley Park Optimist Ball

Updated Thursday November 29, 2018 by Stanley Park Baseball.



Photo: KSA Volunteer Recognition Award for Stanley Park Optimist Ball (L-R)  Craig Findlay (presenter), Joe Watson (award Recipient) and Bill Pegg (KSA President).  (Nov. 21, 2017 at the Edelweiss Sports Bar)



The Kitchener Sports Association holds an annual Volunteer Recognition Dinner at which we've had numerous people honoured over the years: Each local sports group gets to have one of its key volunteers publicly recognized. 

The Optimist Club of Stanley Park's ball program wouldn't be possible to run without the volunteer efforts of hundreds of volunteers who pitch in and help each year. On behalf of the kids, thanks! 

JOE WATSON - Our Volunteer Award recipient for 2017

Joe joined the Optimist Club of Stanley Park in 1986. Three years later, Joe stepped forward to organize the wrap-up celebration when the Optimist club partnered with the individuals who were running a T-Ball program in Stanley Park. With Joe’s help, the program flourished and so did the season-ending party that soon became known as “Hot Dog Day”.  Since its inception, Joe has been responsible for organizing Hot Dog Day — an annual event that now draws well over 1,000 people, involves serving 1,400+ hot-dogs, entertainment, activities for the youth and, most of all, fun for all participants.  Joe is also hands-on: he trucks supplies to the site, helps erect the tents, sorts equipment and often uses his electrical expertise to get everything running.  An executive member of the Club for close to 30 years, Joe is the classic volunteer working mostly behind the scene — one those involved in the Stanley Park Optimist Ball Program can count on. 


KSA Volunteer of The Year Recipients
for Stanley Park Optimist Ball

2018  Ken Wettlaufer
2017  Joe Watson
2016  Amanda Ducey
2015  Gail & Mike MacKenzie
2014  Kurt Munz
2013  Ruth & Paul Reitzel
2012  John Harvey
2011  Phil Munz
2010 John & Leticia Sherritt
2009 Dan Reid
2008 Bruce Lowery
2007 Boyd, Karen, Leah & Dayna Nairn
2006 Tim Trottier
2005 (no award)
2004 (no award)
2003 Owen Tabbert
2002 Richard Robertson
2001 Daniel Sheppard
2000 Mike Baird
1999 Craig Findlay
1998 Jim Weiler
1997 Mike Stanley
1996 Peter Hoffman
1995 Jeff May
1994 Gord Dearborn
1993 Mike Vandepas
1992 Rick Waud
1991 George Schuster
1990 (no award)
1989 Ernie Parker


Note: As this award is given for to a volunteer who has provided distinguished service over a number of years, a person may only be honoured once for work with that organization.  (Refer to the KSA site)

         Over the years we've been fortunate to have numerous individuals stand out by providing extra help - well beyond any normal "call of duty." They represent the hundreds of others that our Ball Program requires to run. Thanks to ALL our volunteers!

This article has No Comments.
Be the first to add your comments!
Click the "Post a New Comment" button below.
firstname lastname commented Just Now

You must be a member of the League and logged in to post comments. Login here.